Save L - Baude A - Cossart R


Cerebral cortex (New York, N.Y. : 1991)


The dentate gyrus, the entry gate to the hippocampus, comprises 3 types of glutamatergic cells, the granule, the mossy and the semilunar granule cells. Whereas accumulating evidence indicates that specification of subclasses of neocortical neurons starts at the time of their final mitotic divisions, when cellular diversity is specified in the Dentate Gyrus remains largely unknown. Here we show that semilunar cells, like mossy cells, originate from the earliest stages of developmental neurogenesis and that early born neurons form age-matched circuits with each other. Besides morphology, adult semilunar cells display characteristic electrophysiological features that differ from most neurons but are shared among early born granule cells. Therefore, an early birthdate specifies adult granule cell physiology and connectivity whereas additional factors may combine to produce morphological identity.

Lien Pubmed

Lire l'article